Senior Service Award

The Senior Professional Service plaque will be presented to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of research administration, especially those that have benefited Region III.

  • 2017 Cynthia Hope – University of Alabama
  • 2016 Laurianne Torres – Duke University
  • 2013 Tony Ventimiglia – Auburn University
  • 2009 Thomas Coggins – University of South Carolina
  • 2008 Patrick Green – Vanderbilt University
  • 2007 Dr. Tom Roberts – Florida Gulf Coast University
  • 2007 Dr. Richard Moore – Costal Carolina University
  • 2006 David S. Battey – College of Charleston
  • 2005 Barbara Gray – College of Charleston
  • 2004 Phillip Myers – Western Kentucky University
  • 2004 Pamela B. Whitlock – University of North Carolina – Wilmington

Pam Whitlock Rising Star Award

As a long-time NCURA Region III member committed to the field of research administration, Pam Whitlock has invariably touched the lives of research administrators – directly and indirectly. Spanning her nearly 30 years of NCURA membership, Pam has been involved at both the regional and national levels. Here are some of the many ways Pam has given so selflessly in making a difference in the field of Research Administration:

  • Recipient of NCURA’s Outstanding Achievement in Research Administration in 2015
  • Recipient of NCURA’s Distinguished Service Award in 2009
  • NCURA President in 2007
  • Served on the NCURA National Board of Directors
  • Chair of the Education Scholarship Fund Task Force
  • Served on FRA, PRA, and NCURA Annual Meeting program committees
  • Served on the Professional Development Committee
  • Chair of the Nominating and Leadership Development Committee
  • Served as faculty member for the Level I: Fundamentals of Sponsored Project Administration Traveling Workshop
  • Member of the leadership team for the Leadership Development Institute (LDI), and later the Executive Leadership Program (ELP)
  • Member of the Peer Review Team
  • Has presented countless times (and continues to present) at both national and regional meetings

The Pam Whitlock Rising Star Award is given to an individual in the early stages of a research administration career who has demonstrated willingness, enthusiasm, and dedication to the field of research administration and service to Region III.

  • 2017 Emily Devereux – Arkansas State University
  • 2016 Steven Koogler – University of Central Florida