Justo Torres 
North Carolina State University, Region III Chair

Justo Torres is the Director for Contracts and Grants at North Carolina State University. Justo oversees a staff of 27 professionals dedicated to the compliant financial management of nearly $400 million in annual awards.

Justo has been a member of NCURA since 1997, and has served as Program Chair for several Regional meetings. Justo has held elected offices at other professional associations throughout his career in research administration.

Emily Devereux
Arkansas State University, Region III Chair-Elect

Emily Devereux is the Executive Director of Research Development at Arkansas State University. She provides senior leadership and directs the research development and pre-award office which includes proposal development and submissions, grants and contracts management, specialized trainings and non-financial post award functions.  She is currently pursuing her Doctor of Public Administration at West Chester University of Pennsylvania.

Laura Letbetter
Georgia State University, Region III Board Member

Laura Letbetter, CRA, is the Associate Director for Sponsored Research Development for the J. Mack Robinson College of Business at Georgia State University. She has worked in research administration since 2004 and is a 2012 graduate of NCURA’s Executive Leadership Program. Her background includes teaching, editing, and program administration.

Robert G. Bingham-Roy
Georgia Institute of Technology, Region III Treasurer

Robert G. Bingham-Roy, MBA, CRA, Research Associate and Director of USG Sponsored Programs. Rob Roy has been involved in research compliance for over 30 years. He has been researcher, principal investigator, department administrator, center associate director for research and administration, and is currently on assignment to the University System of Georgia.

Jeanne Hermann-Petrin, PhD
The University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Region III Treasurer-elect

Jeanne Hermann-Petrin is the Assistant Vice Chancellor for Electronic Research Administration at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. Jeanne leads a team providing services to The Office of Research, OSP, IRB, IACUC, IBC, and Research Safety Offices. Jeanne holds a PhD in Management Information System.

Scott Niles, PhD
Georgia Institute of Technology, Region III Secretary

Scott Niles is a Contracting Officer at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He previously served as the Director of Research Integrity & Compliance at Morehead State University in Morehead, Kentucky. Scott has also worked in proposal development and as a grants and contracts administrator. He recently earned his PhD in Education Sciences with a focus in Research Administration. He is also Region III’s resident troubadour and can be found entertaining the hospitality suite with research administration themed cover songs.

Danielle McElwain
University of South Carolina, Appointed Executive Committee Member

Danielle McElwain, CRA is the Director of Research for the College of Engineering and Computing (CEC) at the University of South Carolina.  Danielle and her staff provide guidance to the CEC faculty for development of proposals, management of awards, coordination of the preparation of large collaborative proposals, and submission of all proposal submission for CEC.  Additionally, Danielle coordinates a PI academy for the faculty in the College of Engineering and Computing.